UI Nanoscience and Nanotechnology Institute Announces Odom and Moskovits as Keynote Speakers for March 2 Symposium

The University of Iowa Nanoscience and Nanotechnology Institute will hold its Winter 2018 Symposium, "Nanoscience for Energy, Health, and Environment," March 2 in 104 Iowa Advanced Technology Laboratories on the University of Iowa campus.

Keynote speakers are Teri W. Odom, Charles E. and Emma H. Morrison Professor of Chemistry at Northwestern University, and Martin Moskovits, Distinguished Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry, University of California, Santa Barbara.

Odom is an expert in designing structured nanoscale materials that exhibit extraordinary size and shape-dependent optical and physical properties. Odom has received numerous honors and awards, including being named a U.S. Department of Defense Vannevar Bush Faculty Fellow; a Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study Fellowship at Harvard University; and a National Institutes of Health Director's Pioneer Award. She is a Fellow of the American Chemical Society, the Materials Research Society, and the Royal Society of Chemistry.

In 2000, Moskovits joined the University of California, Santa Barbara, as Worster Dean of Science. From 2007-2010 he was Chief Technology Officer of API Technologies in NY; and from 2011-2012 Provost at the City College of New York. In 2008 he co-founded Spectra Fluidics, a company that combines SERS with microfluidics to develop high-sensitivity molecular sensing. Moskovits is Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science; Fellow of the Optical Society of America; Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada; former member, and past Vice Chair of the US Department of Energy’s Basic Energy Sciences Advisory Committee 2001-2010. He was Guggenheim Fellow in 1987; 1993 Gerhard Herzberg Award of the Spectroscopy Society of Canada; 1993 Royal Society of Chemistry (London) award in Surface and Colloid Science; 1995 Johannes Marcus Marci Medal of the Czech Spectroscopy Society; 2008 NanoTech Briefs, Nano 50 Innovator award; 2010 Ellis Lippincott Award of the Optical Society of America.

A symposium poster session will be held from 12:00 Noon-1:30 p.m.

The event is co-sponsored by the UI Department of Chemical and Biochemical Engineering and the UI Department of Chemistry.

For more information about the symposium, go to https://www.engineering.uiowa.edu/sites/www.engineering.uiowa.edu/files/nni-fall-2018-symposium-poster_final.pdf.

To register, go to https://nanotech.uiowa.edu/events/nni-winter-2018-symposium-registration.

Profs. Teri Odom (left) and Martin Moskovits.